Hands Of Fame Induction Print

MLT Hands Of Fame StatueHands of Fame Variety Show

7:30pm Friday 2 June 2016

Gore Town & Country Club Stadium

2016 Inductees: THE WARRATAHS

Are you interested in attending the awards?
See the Gold Guitar Information page for further information.

A brief history of the Hands of Fame

In 1981 members of the Gore Country Music Club Inc. first debated the idea of a Hands of Fame structure in the shape of a guitar to substantiate Gore’s claim of being the New Zealand capital of country music. Discussion began between club members of what, how, when and where. Errol Alison was approached a New Zealand artist who lived in Gore to draw up some concepts of plans. These were taken to the Gore District Council for approval to erect the structure where the brown trout stands now. This initial proposal was turned down and the discussion among club members continued.
In 1992 the members of Gore Country Music Club Inc. had the insight to start collecting hand prints set in concrete of country artists both local and international. Prints were collected from Kenny Rogers, Slim Dusty, Patsy Rigger, Garner Wayne, Suzanne Prentice, Ricky Skaggs, Jade Hurley and many other worthy recipients. During the following years members continued to re addressed the idea of a structure to display the Hands of Fame. A few years later the members asked Errol Allison for a structure that would depict what country music means to the people of Gore and Errol presented his design ideas to the members and the project was adopted at a meeting of the club.

Every year since names have been put forward to become part of the selection process to be eligible for the induction ceremony that year. The club members who were voted onto the Hands of Fame committee made the final decision. This committee spent years fundraising and working towards a debt free structure prior to commencement of the building project. This committee also organized and ran the show for several years.

At the show during the induction ceremony a history of the recipient was read out at a public event where the pioneering days of country music in New Zealand was often revealed. Not all the recipients are singers and the criteria to be inducted is decided by the club members. There were some sizable donations from people such as Jessie McChlery-Tytler.

Some of the people instrumental in the final structure being erected are:

Murray Bruce
Sue Bruce
Jessie McChlery-Tytler
Laurel Turnbull
Murray Kirk
Marlene Kirk
Gray Tytler
Audrey Winsloe

The construction began in 2004 and dedicated in the week prior to New Zealand Gold Guitar Awards on May 31st 2005. All the plaques were installed and spaces for new ones to be added. A few years later ownership of the statue was passed over to the Gore District Council.

Below is a list of the recipients:

Hands of Fame Inductees






The Warratahs 

The Hamilton County Bluegrass Band 

The Topp Twins 

No Inductee 

Brendan Dugan, Pat Dugan

2011Barry Skinner, Dennis Marsh
2010Marion Burns
2009Ray Columbus
2008Possum Pickers – Peter Hayes, Lindsay Broad, Denise Hayes, Marilyn Hayes, Rae Cavanagh, Barrie Gill, Alf Pope, Steven Hayes
2007Brian Ringrose, Camille Te Nahu, Jim Lange, Glen Campbell
2006Roger Tibbs, Johnny Morris, Trevor Dawe
2005John Grenell. Peter Posa
2004Les Thomas, Reg McTaggart, Gary Morris, Ernie Andrew
2003Bob Mason, Peter Cairns, Fay Charlett, Rocky Don Hall, Mary Duff
2002Garner Wayne, Toni Williams, Jenny Blackadder
2001Maureen Thomson, Jeff Rea, Canadian Sisters – Violet Williams, Irene Hume
2000Paul Walden, Garth Gibson, Rex Franklin, Noelene Franklin
1999Danny McGirr, Caroline Ramblers – Malcolm Marshall, Malcolm Lilley
1998Noel Parlane, Margaret Bates, Ian Murdoch, Craig Giles, The Plainsmen – Norm Stringer, Claude Stringer
1997Kenny Rogers, Jessie McChlery-Tytler, The Tumbleweeds – Cole Wilson, Myra Wilson, Colin McCrorie, Nola McCrorie
1996Jade Hurley
1994McKean Sisters – Joy McKean, Heather McKean,  Slim Dusty, Anne Kirkpatrick, Wayne Horsburgh, Dusty Spittle, Gray Bartlett, Ricky Skaggs
1993Patsy Riggir, Max McCauley, Suzanne Prentice, Eddie Low, Evan Beale
1992Bobby Bare, Max Whitehouse, Alan Barron, Noel Burns